Skip to main content


August 2021 Hailey Hartjen & Javion Simmons
September 2021 Victor Eilenstein & Reagan Kennedy
October 2021 Ge Gao & Hunter Juneau
November 2021 Evan Myer & Shyla McRoy
December 2021 Autumn Carruthers & Brennen Stegall
January 2022 Caden Graham & Alyssa Daniels
February 2022 Emmalei Miller & Eli Ray
March 2022 Jackson Shelnut & Julie Young
April 2022 Abigail Conn & Larry Blanton
May 2022 Vanessa Lopez & Savionne Jones


Date Organization Achievement
7/25/18 Game, Simulation, and Animation Academy Named Escambia County School District's High School Career Academy of the year.


Year Students



Date Organization Achievement
October 2021

Orchestra - 15 students
Alasdair Baiker, Hyden Ballinger, Jazmyn Bishop, Calvin Brewer,
Robbie Byers, Cecelia Campbell, Courtney Ellsworth, Abby Gryskiewicz,
Mackenzie Hale, Noah Javier, Jorand Rinker, Melissa Schauer (Principal Cello), Braydon Stringer, Tessa Talbert,  Taylor Walker 

All County Orchestra
November 2021 Band 50th Year in a row with straight superior ratings
January 2022

District 1 FBLA Competition Winners
Accounting 1 - Andrew Walker 2nd place
Agribusiness - Holly Phillips 2nd place
Computer Problem Solving - Grier Locke 3rd Place
Cyber Security - Addison Jenkins 1st place
Cyber Security - Camden Burroughs 3rd place
Digital Video Production - Rebekah Kelly, Margaret Shaffer, and Luke White 1st place
Introduction to Business Communication - Aiden Maher 2nd place
Introduction to Financial Math - Megan Truong 2nd place
Introduction to Information Technology - Aiden McLellan 1st place
Mobile Application Development - Cody Alltop and Fletcher Howard 2nd place
Organizational Leadership - Caiden Stone 1st place

16 Winners
March 2022 FFA
Two hundred students packed 60,000 meals for Meals of Hope. 
Civic Activity
March 2022 Beta Club
 The Toy Drive for the Escambia County Sherrif's Office were able to obtain 232 toys for the toy drive.
Civic Activity
April 2022 Band
Participated in the Cherry Blossom Parade in Washington DC
Civic Activity
April 2022 Softball
Raised just over $31,000 for strike out cancer game.
Civic Activity
Date Student Achievement
August 2021 Aidan Robinson Outstanding Reading Performance
August 2021 Carter Pitts National Merit Commended Scholar
February 2022 Dolon Babcock, Madalyn Jarman, Jazaria Rich, Kristyne Yelverton, Michael King Spotlight Readers
April 2022 Abby Gryskiewicz State Runner Up in the Commissioner's Academic Challenge
Students Achievement
Elise Grissom

Diver (Advanced to Regional Meet)

Dolon Babcock Swimmer (Advanced to Regional Meet) - 200yd Freestyle Relay
400yd Freestyle Relay
Braeden Jacobs Swimmer (Advanced to Regional Meet) - 200yd Freestyle
500yd Freestyle
200yd Freestyle Relay
400yd Freestyle Relay
Korbin Menser Swimmer (Advanced to Regional Meet) -  200yd Individual Medley
100yd Breaststroke
200yd Freestyle Relay
400yd Freestyle Relay
Ward O'Brien Swimmer (Advanced to Regional Meet) - 200yd Freestyle Relay
400yd Freestyle Relay
Boston Mayo Swimmer (Advanced to Regional Meet) - Alternate: 200yd Freestyle Relay
400yd Freestyle Relay
Ashley Beddell GWL: Placed 6th place at Regionals in Snatch.
Date Teacher Achievement
April 2019 Clyde Abney Named Pensacola News Journal's area High School Boys Basketaball Coach of the Year
Dec. 2018 Austin Courson Top 5 Finalist for Escambia County Teacher of the Year
Oct. 2018 Robin Blalock Florida Social Studies Teacher of the Year
Jan. 2017 Steven Tuley Received the George Washington Honor Medal
March 2017 Cynthia Domulot Received honors at the National Naval Aviation Museum, for their performance at the December 7th World War Two Remembrance Program
Oct. 2016 Stefany Tompkins 2016 Grants for Excellence Recipient - $5000, to be used for a 3D Printer
April 2016 Greg Blackmon Won his 300th game as coach of the Tate Baseball teams
Jan. 2016 Caroline Gray Candidate for Escambia County Teacher of the Year 2017
May 2014 Andrew Baggett Received the TWW Teacher of the Year award
Jan. 2014 Stephen Duckworth Awarded $4,000 by Play 60
Oct. 2013 Mitzi Allen 2013 Grants for Excellence Recipient
Oct. 2012 Robin Blalock 2012 Grants for Excellence Recipient
Oct. 2012 John Hannon 2012 Grants for Excellence Recipient
May 2012 Linda Ralph Early Childhood Education Academy Instructor of the Year
May 2011 Janice Courson NRF Foundation's National Professional Certification in Customer Service
Mar. 2011 Gene Seales Lifetime Achievement Award for Career Education of Florida
Oct. 2010 Cynthia Reeves Florida Scholastic Press Association Teacher of the Year - District 1
Mar. 2010 Judy Julian Official Child Development Associate Advisor
Mar. 2010 Linda Ralph Official Child Development Associate Advisor
Feb. 2010 Mike Varner Escambia County Teacher of the Year
May 2009 Robin Blalock Escambia County Social Studies Teacher of the Year
May 2009 Robin Blalock Florida Council for Social Studies Outstanding Teacher
May 2009 Janice Courson Florida FBLA Advisor Hall of Fame
2008 - 2009 Joe Hooten Oliver Hobbs Award
2005 - 2006 Kelly Krostag National Board Certified Teacher
May 2005 Janice Courson Escambia Association for Career & Technical Education
Teacher of the Year
May 2005 Mike Varner Florida Outstanding Biology Teacher
2003 - 2004 Beverly Vincent National Board Certified Teacher
1991 - 1992 Joe Hooten Phi Beta Mu Outstanding Band Master Award


Date Teacher Department
2022 - 2023 Karl King Math

2021 - 2022

Janice Courson Business Technology
2020 - 2021 Tena Gindl Math
2019 - 2020 Austin Courson Agriculture
2018 - 2019 Alton "Dale" Gilmore Social Studies
2017 - 2018 Ursula LaMontagne Reading
2016 - 2017 Caroline Gray Social Studies
2015 - 2016 Tristan Harris Social Studies
2014 - 2015 Brian Caldwell Social Studies
2013 - 2014 Charles Milstead Math
2011 - 2012 Alan Culp Science
2010 - 2011 Sheri Chivington ESE
2009 - 2010 Mike Varner Science
2008 - 2009 Linda Leggett English
2007 - 2008 Alan Culp Science
2006 - 2007 Robin Venetozzi English
2005 - 2006 Joe Hooten Band
2002 - 2003 Carolyn Stallworth Business
2000 - 2001 Kelly Krostag English